Twitter list: 20 women in sustainability

Summary

To celebrate this year’s International Women’s Day, the Guardian Sustainable Business published a list of women tweeting about sustainability that you should be following:

10Mar.
0

Compiled in no particular order, here are 20 women in the Twittersphere sharing interesting commentary and useful links on a range of sustainability issues. There are undoubtedly some star tweeters missing from the list, so we welcome you to share anyone who isn’t included and should be in the comments section below.

1.Christiana Figueres @CFigueres

Executive secretary of the UN Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC). Figueres is passionate about fighting climate change and it shines through in her tweets.

 

2.Anna Lappe @annalappe

A Twitter feed for foodies. Lappe is an author and sustainable food advocate known for her expertise on food systems.

 

3.Susan McPherson @susanmcp1

A corporate responsibility expert, McPherson is the host of bi-weekly #CSRChat, a hashtag worth checking out.

 

4.Lucy Siegle @lucysiegle

Journalist and author on environmental and ethical living issues, who offers advice to readers on green dilemmas.

 

5.Hannah Jones @hjones_nike

Vice-president of Nike’s sustainability and business innovation.

 

6.Julie Urlaub @TaigaCompany

A frequent tweeter sharing various articles on sustainability issues, Urlaub is a sustainability and social media consultant.

 

7.Connie Hedegaard @CHedegaardEU

EU Commissioner for Climate Action, tweeting on issues around climate change, as you’d expect.

 

8.Christine Bader @christinebader

A visiting scholar and lecturer at Columbia University, Bader has just written a book reflecting on her time with BP.

 

9.Cynthia Hellen @CynthiaHellen

Founder and CEO of SMPLCT Lab, Hellen shares links to interesting reads, tweeting about a range of sustainability issues with a focus on technology.

 

10.Suzanne Fallender @sfallender

Fallender is director of Intel’s Global Girls and Women Initiative. She tweets mainly around empowering girls and women through education and technology.

 

11.Kara Hurst @KaraHurst

CEO of The Sustainability Consortium, Hurst often tweets from sustainability events and shares information on CSR job vacancies.

 

12.Susan Hunt Stevens @huntstevens

Founder of Practically Green, Stevens lists one of her passions as sustainable design.

 

13.April Rinne @aprilrinne

Chief strategy officer at Collaborative Lab, Rinne’s upbeat Twitter feed focuses on news around collaborative consumption and the sharing economy.

 

14.Alice Korngold @alicekorngold

A frequent tweeter, Korngold provides strategy consulting to Fortune 100 corporations and others on CSR issues.

 

15.Janelle Heslop @jayhesl

Described in her Twitter bio as an enviro-sustainability-innovation-mgmt consultant and engineer, Heslop tweets all things sustainability and shares links to interesting reads.

 

16.Kate Heiny @kateheiny

Heiny leads the enterprise-wide sustainability strategy for Target.

 

17.Kate Sheppard @kate_sheppard

A reporter and environment editor for the Huffington Post, Sheppard sprinkles her sense of humour among links to informative sustainability reads.

 

18.Women’s Environment and Development Organization @WEDO_worldwide

Follow for tweets around advancing women’s rights, gender equality and sustainable development.

 

19.Women’s Major Group @Women_Rio20

The Women’s Major Group is an open-ended group of organisations working on women’s rights, sustainable development and environment themes. This feed is made up of live tweeting from events and links to relevant reports and articles.

 

20.Bianca Jagger @BiancaJagger

Founder and chair of the Bianca Jagger Human Rights Foundation, Jagger tweets mostly around human rights.

 

Reblogged from theguardian.com

Photo from Shutterstock /Rasstock